July 1, 1916
“Advance of the Newfoundlanders”
Young soldiers who witnessed the devastation of trench warfare found ways to cope with what they had seen. Willam Coysh, 20 years old, Regimental #2018 from the Battery Road in St. John’s tried to cope by writing poetry. On October 12, 1916 while recovering from “shell shock and shrapnel wounds to the back and right arm” at the 4th London General Hospital, London, England he wrote “Advance of the Newfoundlanders” a poem about the Newfoundland Regiment at Beaumont Hamel on July 1, 1916.
Onward they swept in the flower of
Our lads from Newfoundland,
far from the sea.
Onward thy swept until the last man
Had fallen for Britain, the land of
With guns in front and rear,
With death and danger near,
To them unknown was fear,
Gallant five hundred.
Oh, well we might love the fair land
that bore us,
That can boast of sons so
loyal and true,
Who gave us their all to keep the flag
The flag of our Empire,
the red, white and blue.
For no braver deed hath e’er been recorded
Then their steady advance o’er the shell riv’en soil,
The scene of long months of
horror and anguish
Amid death and danger, privation and toil
On swept the gallant band,
Falling on every hand
O’er that dread No Man’s Land
Went that five hundred!
Upon returning to Newfoundland in 1917 described as ‘medically unfit” Coysh was assigned special duty as a quartermaster sergeant a warrant officer responsible for supplies.
Following the war William Coysh moved to Highland Park, Detroit, U.S.A. He died at the Maddison Community Hospital on 4 November 1977.
Commemoration of the Battle of Beaumont-Hamel: On the 100th anniversary of the battle at Beaumont-Hamel, The Rooms will open this new permanent exhibition. Journey from trench to home front, from recruitment and training through service overseas as you experience stories of the Great War and its lasting impact on the people and the identity of Newfoundland and Labrador. A full day of commemorative activities is planned for July 1, 2016 to honour those from Newfoundland and Labrador who served in the First World War.
Due to the level of interest and anticipated large numbers in attendance for the tribute event, The Royal Newfoundland Regiment Gallery will not open to the public until Saturday, July 2. The Rooms is pleased to offer FREE admission to this exhibition on July 2 and 3.